What is stamp duty and where do you have to pay it?

Stamp duty is a tax imposed by certain States on documents or transactions that affect or record:

  • the transfer of the ownership of assets (eg land, cars), or
  • the creation of rights in respect of assets (eg certain leases and the creation of a trust).

Each State handles stamp duty differently. See the table below for details.

With the authority from the State Revenue Office of Victoria to stamp deeds in-house, Castle provides a complimentary stamping service. The service is free for deeds provided by us to our clients. Read more.

Interstate deeds incur a handling fee to cover our costs in sending the deeds interstate and arranging for their return by courier. The cost is $55 for New South Wales and Tasmania, and $77 for the Northern Territory.

Discretionary & Unit Trusts
Super Funds
Duty Payable on Original
Duty Payable per Counterpart
Must Be Stamped Within
New South Wales Yes No $500 $10 90 days from date of deed
Northern Territory Yes Yes $20 $5 60 days from date of deed
Queensland No No
South Australia No No Nil – but deeds will be stamped if requested Nil – but deeds will be stamped if requested
Tasmania Yes Yes $50 $0 90 days from date of deed
Victoria Yes No $200 $0 30 days from date of deed
Western Australia No No